Home Page
Coaches and Players
Front Office
New York Fury
Paul Riley Soccer School
North Hempstead Cup
Albertson Soccer Club
Contact Us
CFC Passion Shut Out Fury, 1-0, at Yale
The date of 7/11 proved to be unlucky for the Long Island Fury as they lost to the CFC Passion, 1-0, at Yale University in New Haven. The Passion improve their Women’s Premier Soccer League record to 6-2-1 while the Fury finish their season at 4-4-2. The Passion scored the game’s only goal in the 16th minute past Fury keeper Brittany Anghel.

“The Fury just ran out of gas tonight as playing three games in four days took its toll,” commented Fury head coach Michael Demakis. “Defensively we did well but we could not sustain anything up top and our finishing was off. We even changed formations from 4-3-3 to 3-3-4 to 3-2-5 to get something going offensively.”

Curiously, the Fury had a 15-10 advantage in shots.

Founded in 2006 as a Women's Premier Soccer League franchise, the Long Island Fury won the WPSL national championship in both 2006 and 2009. Seven Long Island Fury alumnae--Gina and Tina DiMartino, Kelly Henderson, Ali Long, Rebecca Moros, Alex Singer and Sue Weber--used their phenomenal play for the Fury to become professional players in Women's Professional Soccer. Their former coach, Paul Riley, now coaches the Philadelphia Independence franchise in that same league. For more info, log on to their website,



Arch Capital
Big Apple Soccer logo
Falk and Klebanoff